Historic snowstorm?

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

The historic snow storm of 2015…that never was (at least not in our area).

I went to work last night and made it in fine (our new car tires drive like a dream!!…the plows hadn’t really gone out by then and with about 1-2 inches fallen by then, everyone on the highway was doing about 25-30 mph while I could comfortably do 40!)

Throughout the night of working I kept peeking outside to see what was going on.  There was a lot of wind, but not much snow accumulation it seemed.  We had over 50 people stay overnight at the hospital (some people who had to work in the morning and some who stayed after their 3-11 shift).  When the morning people started coming in and said the roads were not that bad I decided to call Kimm once she got up and see if the streets were plowed by our house.  When she said “yes” I made the decision to drive home.  The highway was actually worse in the morning than it had been driving in.  Even though they had done some plowing, there was still a bunch of snow left so it was hard to see the lines — and there were a few slippery spots.

BUT…I made it home safely, thank goodness.

By the time I got home, Kimm had the entire driveway plowed and was working on the last of the shoveling.  I grabbed my shovel and helped with the rest.  I think we got about 6-8 inches.

After getting up from sleeping, Kimm told me she had only gone out one more time and there was about an inch on the ground.

I feel incredibly lucky that we were spared and the drive in and back was made safely.  And because of that I got to sleep in my own bed, take a shower in the comfort of my home, eat dinner with my sweetie and snuggle on the couch while watching a Switched at Birth!!

Now I just have one more night on and then a few off.  Of course we are predicted to get more snow this weekend when I work 🙂

#onewinterdayatatime #newengland

Leave a Reply

