Peanut Butter Cookies {vegan}

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

What a nice night we had tonight 🙂

Kimm and I went out for dinner and chatting with a friend of mine (well both of ours now!) that used to work at the hospital.  We hadn’t seen each other in a while so it was just a treat to sit and talk and laugh and catch up!

She provided the meal which was really good — vegetarian chili with all the toppings (shredded cheese, avocado, cilantro, blue corn chips, and rice).  I have never put rice in with chili before and it was so good that way…really thickened it up and provided a great texture.  I had two big bowls that warmed me up from the inside.

I provided dessert!  I’ve been wanting to dabble a bit in vegan baking and this was the perfect opportunity as our friend is mainly vegan (even though I know she hates those labels!).  Kimm and I have been trying to decrease our dairy as well whenever we can (it’s so hard for us because we love our cheese and ice cream!!)

So this morning I was Pinteresting and Googling my little heart out to find a good vegan dessert and when I stumbled upon peanut butter cookies they just sounded ideal because we all love peanut butter.

This peanut butter cookie recipe was from the blog Blissful Basil which I want to explore a little more in my spare time (right!).  I think I made only one change which was to slightly increase the amount of salt (I like my salt!)

Peanut Butter Cookies {vegan}

Makes: 20 cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Bake time: 10 minutes per cookie sheet

Ingredients:

1 cup peanut butter (I used natural)

1 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup oat flour (I used gluten-free oats that I processed in my mini food processor for about 2 minutes until a “flour” formed)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup water

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together peanut butter and brown sugar in a bowl until combined, about one minute.

Add vanilla and cream together until combined.

In a separate bowl mix together the dry ingredients — oat flour, baking soda and salt.

Add the dry ingredients to the peanut butter mixture and mix until a crumbly dough forms.

Add the 1/4 cup water and mix until distributed (this will still be a very crumbly dough).

Take 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of dough and roll to create a ball.

Place dough balls on cookie sheet and flatten with fork one way, and then the opposite way to create a criss-cross pattern.

Bake for 10 minutes until slightly browned.

Remove from oven, let cool on pan about two minutes and then transfer to baker’s rack to fully cool (be gentle moving cookies to baker’s rack as they are pliable until cooled completely).

ENJOY!!!!

I REALLY liked these cookies…the taste was spot on, very peanut-y, and they were slightly crisp on the outside and chewy in the center.  They paired perfectly with our after dinner coffee!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

