Mom’s Apple Crisp

Saturday, February 28, 2015

The last day of February!

Tomorrow is March which means we are THAT much closer to spring 🙂

My first night of work was okay…lots of running around but the walking is good for me.

Last night and tonight we got to enjoy some great apple crisp that I made with some apples Kimm’s mom gave me.  I used my mom’s apple crisp recipe which is so simple, yet SO YUMMY!

Mom’s Apple Crisp

Makes: 8 small or 4 large servings

Time to prep: 20 minutes

Time to cook: 1 hour

Ingredients:

Filling…

Enough sliced apples to fill an 8 x 8 glass pan (I would say about 4-5 large apples or 8-9 small apples)

Scant 1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 cup water

Crisp topping…

1 cup white sugar

3/4 cup white flour

4 tablespoons butter, softened

dash cinnamon

To make:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray 8 x 8 glass pan with non-stick spray.

Peel and slice enough apples to fill pan.

Sprinkle scant 1/4 cup white sugar over sliced apples, and then pour over 1/2 cup water.

Make topping by mixing together softened butter, sugar, flour and cinnamon until crumbly.

Sprinkle topping over apples.

Bake in oven for one hour.

Cook and enjoy!!

**Note: my mom usually makes a 9 x 13 size pan for this amount of topping but I LOVE the topping so much I use this much topping for a 1/2 batch!

Seriously this is THE BEST apple crisp…Kimm agrees 🙂

 

 

 

One thought on “Mom’s Apple Crisp

Leave a Reply

