Power outage!

Friday, November 20, 2015

Again a super busy night at work.  Our census is WAY up (about 100, whereas normal is between 70-85).  No beds left on med/surg, imc or icu.  Some patients who needed to be admitted had to spend the night in the ER.  Not too much fun on a stretcher I would think.

I stayed late this morning to meet with the department manager of IMC with a few employees and interactions (basically regarding the lack of support for new nurses).  So frustrating to see, yet the unit is so busy, it’s easy to not have time to be super nice all the time.  It’s hard to find a balance.

I was home by 9:30 and happy to see my family.  A quick chat with Kimm, a quick bit of lovin’ for all the animals, and then up to bed.

Now on to the power outage…COMPLETELY unexpected!

Towards the end of our walk, we heard this MASSIVE boom.  SCARED the living s**t out of us…we thought it was a gun or a bomb.  It was truly frightening.  We thought some person in the neighborhood was doing something stupid, but then as we continued to walk, we heard some people saying, “transformer.”  So it seems like the transformer in our neighborhood blew.  And because of that…no power.  Kimm called right away when we got home.

Thankfully we were only without power for about an hour.  I spent that time working on a letter of recommendation for a person at work to get into nursing school.

We ate about 6:15 pm, just an hour later, but boy was I HUNGRY.  That meal tasted so good!

Now I’ve just finished my languages and Izzy is doing SO WELL today with not licking her incision site so much.  I have been spraying it with the medicated spray and it actually looks so much better (feels softer too which may make her less wanting to lick at it).  Hopefully she is ON THE MEND 🙂

I’m off to do yoga (it’s 30 minutes today), then shower, then a quick nap before work.

And before I forget — WELCOME HOME ERIC.  My nephew is home to visit his family for the holidays.  I know my brother and my sister-in-law and my parents are all so glad to be able to see him.  It’s times like these that I wished I lived a wee bit closer 🙂

Leave a Reply

