Practice: EASE

Sunday, January 1, 2017

Welcome, 2017…

Today I started doing Revolution (31 days of yoga with Adrienne).  Today was about practicing EASE.  The Sanskrit word for ease is Sukha.  Other translations are happiness, pleasure, bliss.  What a wonderful way to welcome the new year and to welcome my body back to yoga.

I’m so incredibly happy that my friend sent me the link for this program.  I wanted to get back into doing yoga and this just makes it so much easier.

I’m also starting to read a book I got for Christmas…Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga (Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison).  I’m going to share meaningful passages to me…

~~yoga is the study of balance

~~balance is the aim of all living creatures, it is our HOME

~~yoga is the practice of celebrating what IS

~~the Yoga Sutras illuminate a spiritual path that shows us how to realize our human potential

~~a spiritual practice brings us to the essence of our true selves, to the knowledge that we already have everything we need

~~yoga is a lamp in the darkness of our spiritual wandering, reminding us that even though we may feel far from our home of balance, it is already there, just waiting to be discovered

Today was a good day.  I had a moment of sadness at the start of the year, as I was dealing with a family who is going through the worst imaginable thing…saying goodbye to a loved one.  A woman had come into the hospital with a massive stroke, now unresponsive, prognosis very poor.  However, the husband was having a very difficult time letting her go.  They had been married for 60 years.  He told me, “she doesn’t belong here, she belongs back at home with me.”  He was not ready to admit that who he loved was no longer there.  It truly brought tears to my eyes.  I really hope that he will be able to accept that the wife he knew and loved is no longer there.

Beyond that, the night was busy and therefore kept me going.

I stopped at Stop and Shop for a few things in the morning and then home to bed!

Simple meal of veggie burger and fries, followed by some Christmas candy.  Threw some of it away today (was getting dried out).

I did my yoga!!  LOVED it.

Now for a snack and Criminal Minds before bed.

Things making me happy today: filling in my new monthly calendar, sun, bed after working, new screen savers for my phone and computer, a day off, Christmas tree lights

 

Leave a Reply

