Remembering a life taken too early.

Monday, January 9, 2017

Wow, that was a long, busy night at work.  But I’m not going to complain.

After work, I changed into my nice clothes, fixed my hair, and met my co-supervisor in the parking lot.  It was COLD — close to zero degrees.  We headed out to Cracker Barrel for breakfast before heading to the funeral.  I got something new…two fried eggs with mayo and tomato on sourdough bread, of course with the side of cheesy hashbrown casserole 🙂

We got to the church about 9:30 am.  It was huge…the ceilings were probably about 50 feet tall at least.  I would say about 50 pews on each side.  The inside was still decorated for Christmas…trees with lights on in the front, and wreaths down the sides.  It was very pretty.  I don’t think that church was heated…SO cold (could not take off my jacket, as was the same for almost everyone).

The service was beautiful.  At the beginning, there were two rows of people (I believe from the Holyoke parade committee…with green jackets and tartan scarves) that lined up on either side of the pews facing inward.  Then the family and close friends walked between them to the front of the church (there must have been at least 100 people who walked through them).  At the very end came the casket.  The entire time a hauntingly beautiful song was being sung…”Be Not Afraid.”  There were many tears.

After that it was a typical Catholic mass.  Another beautiful song during communion, “On Eagle’s Wings.” At the very end, a poignant eulogy was given by her cousin (who is also a nurse at the hospital) — it was funny and real and sad and memorable.  Again, there were many tears.

There were at least 300 people at the funeral.  She was well known and well loved.  It was a lovely farewell to a life that ended way too soon.  I’m still in shock that she is no longer here.

After the ceremony I was dropped back at work and I drove home.  When I got home I was so tired.  I crashed into bed and woke up four hours later.  Thankfully I only needed to heat up the leftover enchiladas.   After eating I did the dishes, took a shower and then headed back to bed for a two hour nap.  And then it was back to work for night two.

Meditations from the Mat (Day 9)…

~~abhyasa is practice

~~it refers not only to the practice of yoga but also to the attitude with with our practice is approached

~~abhyasa is unconditional — it is the dedicated, unswerving application of what you believe in

~~the commitment is not about the results

~~abhyasa is an energy that builds in our lives as we use it

~~if it is cultivated in good times, it will be there in our most difficult times

Things that are making me happy today: being complimented on having lost weight, seeing so many people gather together to celebrate a life, sleeping well, easy dinners

 

“Be Not Afraid”

John Michael Talbot

 

You shall cross the barren desert

But you shall not die of thirst

You shall wander far in safety

Though you do not know the way.

You shall speak your words in foreign lands

And all will understand

You shall see the face of God and live.

 

Be not afraid

I go before you always

Come follow Me

And I will give you rest.

 

If you pass through raging waters

In the sea, you shall not drown

If you walk amid the burning flames

You shall not be harmed.

If you stand before the power of hell

And death is at your side

Know that I am with you, through it all.

 

Be not afraid

I go before you always

Come follow Me

And I will give you rest.

 

Blessed are your poor

For the Kingdom shall be theirs

Blessed are you that weep and mourn

For one day you shall laugh.

And if wicked men insult and hate you

All because of Me

Blessed, blessed are you.

 

Be not afraid

I go before you always

Come follow Me

And I shall give you rest.

 

“On Eagle’s Wings”

Josh Groban

 

You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord,

Who abide in His shadow for life,

Say to the Lord, “My Refuge,

My Rock in Whom I trust.”

 

And he will raise you up on eagle’s wings,

Bear you on the breath of dawn,

Make you to shine like the sun,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

 

The snare of the fowler will never capture you,

And famine will bring you no fear;

Under His wings your refuge,

His faithfulness your shield.

 

And he will raise you up on eagle’s wings,

Bear you on the breath of dawn,

Make you to shine like the sun,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

 

You need not fear the terror of the night,

Nor the arrow that flies by day,

Though thousands fall about you,

Near you it shall not come.

 

And he will raise you up on eagle’s wings,

Bear you on the breath of dawn,

Make you to shine like the sun,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

 

For to His angels He’s given a command,

To guard you in all of your ways,

Upon their hands they will bear you up,

Lest you dash your foot against a stone.

 

And he will raise you up on eagle’s wings,

Bear you on the breath of dawn,

Make you to shine like the sun,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

