HEAVY WET SNOW

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Work was better last night, busy but not crazy busy.  Census is way up — over 100 patients.  We actually ran out of PHYSICAL hospital beds.  I think they will have to rent or buy more.

Driving to work yesterday was a little scary…very slippery.  I’m glad I left early.  However, getting into my car this morning was no fun either.  During the night the freezing rain had turned to sleet/slush and there was about an inch of the heavy, wet stuff on the car.  Scraping off the car was NOT fun.  The roads were actually not bad.

When I got home I saw that we had gotten maybe about 2 inches.  I immediately started shoveling the walkway because I knew Kimm’s arm was bothering her and she would not be able to do it.

Then I headed to the driveway and did that too.  It took me about an hour and a half and it was BRUTAL.  SO, SO heavy.  And some parts had turned to ice.  If I didn’t have my music going I don’t know how I would have gotten through it.  In retrospect I should have snowblowed it.  However, I forgot how to do it.  I’ll need a refresher course from Kimm.

After coming in, I said a quick hello to Kimm before she went to her doctor’s appointment and then I showered and headed to bed.  I slept only so-so, mostly because my hair was still wet and it made me SO cold in bed.  It took me forever to warm up.

When I woke up I found out that Kimm was diagnosed with tendinitis (or tennis elbow).  She is wearing a brace and needs to go for a steroid injection.  And she has to rest it which will be the hardest part because she always wants to do more than she should when she is injured!  I will have to MAKE her rest.  Of course the doctor was also concerned about her blood pressure and pulse because both were elevated (I think mostly because of the pain).  So now she has to record her blood pressure and pulse at home for 2 weeks.

I am so tired!!  That makes me happy that I have off tonight.  On top of it all I am fighting off a cold!!! I had done well for so long not catching what others have at the hospital.  Thankfully it is just a head cold but to me, those are the worst.  I always feel so run down and exhausted.  I need to rest up the next two days before my next stretch of three on.

Bed will feel SO GOOD tonight.

Meditations from the Mat (Day 24)…

~~satya means letting go of pretense

~~sharing the truth means startling honesty

~~these are holy moments, when we dome out of hiding, don’t try to be “cool,” and just speak the truth

Things making me happy today: a hot shower after shoveling, having tonight off because I feel lousy/sick, napping and resting on the couch

 

Leave a Reply

