The Day After…

Friday, February 10, 2017

Whew…I slept GOOD.  Which is a good thing since I was so achy from all that shoveling.  We slept in until almost 9 am!!

Breakfast was waffles…yumm!

And then I got to baking.  I have book club this afternoon and I wasn’t sure what to bring but I decided on Oatmeal Butterscotch Blondies.  It was fun baking again…and the kitchen smelled AMAZING.

I did a quick yoga exercise to stretch all those sore muscles, followed by a hot shower.  Then lunch — mini pizza, Pringles and a taste of the blondies (had to make sure they tasted okay!!!)

Kimm is outside now getting some of the snow off the walkway.  It is brilliantly white and sunny.  I’m about to get ready to go.

When I get back tonight I’ll have just enough time to watch a Blacklist with Kimm before heading into work.

Meditations from the Mat (Day 41)…

~~brahmacarya on the mat is suppleness of spirit

~~ we are often rigid in many things (doing things a certain way, at a certain time…)

~~at the root of attachment/rigidity is fear and with fear you go nowhere at all

~~push yourself out of rigidity by resting more and practicing even when you don’t want to

~~when you are unhappy with pose, a teacher, a way of doing something…this often reflects an aspect of yourself that you have not made peace with

~~brahmacarya is personal responsibility for trying for suppleness

Things making me happy today: clear day after the storm, achy muscles that SHOW I did work, baking in the kitchen, Butterscotch Blondies, new book club!

Leave a Reply

