A smoking Vitamix (or an indoor picnic with a dear friend…)

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

I made it through my three days on 🙂  And the last night was not too bad.

I got home and immediately went to bed because we were going to be having a grill out/book club meeting with our good friend at 5 pm.  Of course when I got up during my sleep to head to the bathroom, what do I hear??  THUNDER!!!  On the one day of the week that was supposed to be nice!

When I get up at 4:15 pm, the rain is still falling.  And Kimm tells me that it has been falling all afternoon.  No grill out for us.  We change our plans for an indoor picnic 🙂

Our big plan for the night was to make strawberry margaritas with the last of our berries that were sitting in the fridge.  Everyone got a taste of them before I poured them into the Vitamix and then…SMOKE!!!!!  Right out of the bottom of the Vitamix where the top portion attaches.  HOLY COW!!!!!  At first I thought I was imagining things so I just kept going, but then all of a sudden both Kimm and A. said, “stop…it’s smoking!!!”  So I stopped it and boy did it STINK!!!  And the worst part…the strawberries were RUINED!!!  They completely took on the smell/taste of the scorched Vitamix…BIG SAD FACE.   I was SO looking forward to having homemade strawberry margaritas!  Thankfully A. was there when this happened because she said that she had something similar happen to her Vitamix and she called customer service and they gave her a whole new machine.  I hope (fingers crossed) that will happen with us too.

So, after that debacle, we had to compromise and make regular margaritas…which we did!  They were a little strong, even though they had LESS alcohol in them than what the recipe called for!  I guess we are lightweights 🙂  All in all, they were GOOD.  High calorie, but good 🙂

Our indoor picnic consisted of…veggie burgers (Kimm Grillers Original, me and A. Mediterranean Chickpea…excellent!) with the works (lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, mustard and ketchup), corn off the cob, roasted asparagus, black bean salad.  YUMM!

After eating we played Quiddler and A. won!  She left around 9:30 pm and we ended the night with some peanut butter M&M’s while watching White Collar.

A good (adventurous) first night off!

Meditations from the Mat (Day 193)…

~~”You yourselves are the Being you are seeking.” — Swami Vivekananda

~~something beautiful happens on the mat for the student who stays with yoga practice for a short time…an awareness begins to dawn…our attention shifts from what we can GET to who we can BE

~~we arrive at the conclusion that we are the ones we have been waiting for…this is the beginning of svadhyaya, or self-study, on the mat

Things making me happy today: having two days off!, getting together with a close friend, a good meal with conversation and laughter, high calorie margaritas 🙂

Leave a Reply

